Escrima and kukris

Hey guys, complete newbie to Escrima here. I was wondering if kukris were a good blade to use in escrima, or are they too heavy (maybe something like a sirupate would be better?)?

I'm interested in learning escrima since the moves are basic to H2H, stick and blade fighting. Also thought it'd make a good companion to Muay Thai.

Comments?

I think you'll find that there are people using kukris for escrima (as well as other MAs).

Train with a kukri made of aluminum, hardwood, or cutting board plastic, etc. Then add a dulled-down, point-rounded-over kukri of appropriate size.

The folks over at the Himalayan Imports forum have talked about escrima and kukris before. :thumbup:

Thanks. I wasn't talking about using a sharp kukri for training, but thanks for the warning.

I hang out mostly at the HI forum, but a search didn't turn up anything that definitively said if kukris were a good choice or not, figured I'd ask here.

I think kukri are excellent, just any type of well made balanced kukri will do the job, the Gurkha's prefer lighter blades, and for MA I like kukri with 13-14" blades weighing 22-25oz.

I think kukri are excellent, just any type of well made balanced kukri will do the job, the Gurkha's prefer lighter blades, and for MA I like kukri with 13-14" blades weighing 22-25oz.

yeah, I had seen some weighing in at about 2kgs, and thought that would be a bit much.

I don't have a pair yet (oh, the irony). Where did you get yours?

Kuhkris make awesome Escrima blades, IMO. Remember your safety zone or say good bye to your knee-caps.

Someone correct me if I am wrong, I believe "sirupate" means "leaf" and the term can be applied to the kuhkri. In other words, it not necessarily a totally different type of blade.

Kuhkuris come in different weights, lengths, and shapes depending on your preference and needs.