Field Sharpening Idea

Does anybody make a sharpening rod like the Spyderco rods, except with the end of the rod cut off on an angle. So that you can hold the angled end flat on a flat surfuce for a constant angle, and pretty much use it like a sharp maker would be used?

and if not, how might one go about cutting a ceramic rod.

great idea mate. You should patent it. As far as cutting ceramic, mabey a dremal with cut-off disk?

I use the lansky croc stick type. What I did instead of cutting the ceramic was went to the hardware store and picked up a rubber stopper with more meat on it. The cap that covers the end has a triangular inner and round outter shape from the factory. I then fit the rubber stopper over this and then figured out the angle I desired.using sandpaper I took it down to the proper angle after marking it with a sharpie. I have a 15 degree on one side and 20 on the other. I used gorilla glue and affixed it for good.....sorry no picks on my blackberry. This system works great and is pretty fool(obama)proof. If you are lacking a good solid surface in the backcountry I just stick with the bottom of my gsi cup.

GATCO makes the TRI-SEPS sharpener with angled rubber caps on each end. There web site shows them in a fine diamond grit but 1SKS also has them in ceramic if you prefer. There only about 4 inches long but you could take the caps off and put them on your Spyderco stones if your wanting something longer, there is a little difference between the shape of the stones though.