First Knife Project - multiple threads merged

Hey all, I am new here and will be doing some research on these topics for now I am mostly saying hello but could also use some advice. If I have posted this in the wrong section please let me know thanks.

I am wanting to make my own custom chopper knife with a blade length of ~12.5" and tang ~5.5". I purchased a 3/8" thick, 2 and 1/2" width, 18" length piece of O1 tool steel. I have no experience making knives but have always wanted to try. It may not be wise to start on such a large knife but I have always been one to dive right into things. After a bit of youtube watching, I found Gavko has a video building a knife almost identical to what I want to build even using Micarta for the handle. I am using a bit thicker steel as I want the heft mostly for camp wood chopping etc.

I have a few questions: belt grinders... I am really thinking about just jumping into something nice such as one of the beaumont KMG's it is not really "in" my budget but I have enough to buy one. I have seen some cheaper 42" grinders such as the KALAMAZOO 1SM 1" X 42" and maybe this would work for now? Even if it is slower my money is tight and throwing $1500 at something might make someone angry if you catch my drift, also it would cut into my emergency fund a bit... I also saw the grizzly 72" and the Coote were recommended but at that cost I figure I may as well jump up to one of the KMG's. I am up in the air about all of these. If a KALAMAZOO 1SM 1" X 42" would do then that would save me some up front cost. I also am not sure how many knives I will be making at first. It is really just going to be a hobby.

If I did go with the beaumont, which is the best model for an absolute beginner when it comes to belt grinding, the 10 inch wheel? I have experience with wheel metal grinding/cutting and hand belt sander wood work but never have I worked metal on a belt grinder.