Good sharpener for a newbie

I have hardly any experience with sharpening knives and would love a good sharpener that isn't going to set me back a ton of money. I don't know about finding edges and all that and I'm not good with a stone. Something user friendly that an inexperienced person like me can but an nice sharp edge on my knives when they need it. Recommendations please....

Spyderco Sharpmaker. If you can hold your hand reasonably steady then you should have relatively few problems getting good edges on your blades. I've tried all the major players' sharpeners like Lansky's, Smith's, DMT's Aligner thing, freehand with stones, and convexing with belt sander, and the Sharpmaker is among the best of the cheaper routes.

I've got to agree with the Sharpmaker recommendation but I also think that the DMT Aligner or Magna-Guide setup is a very worthwhile addition as well. Together they make a great team (though it does raise the price some).

DMT Aligner Deluxe with Coarse, Fine, Extra Fine, and serrated accessory is $42. Spyderco Sharpmaker is $46.

If you want something that will give you a very precise (and very sharp) edge even when sharpening super steels, then the Aligner is for you. If you want something that's really quick to setup and dismantle, then the sharpmaker is it.

I'd say that, if you're new to sharpening and want a good, predictable edge, then go for the DMT. I agree with Sep that the Sharpmaker is quick and easy to set up, but -- IMHO -- I think it requires a little more skill than the DMT.