Help sharpening with a whetstone?

Hello everyone, I'm new here on blade forums and to be honest I'm not entirely sure I'm asking this in the right category. Sorry if I'm not, but I need help. Ok, so I'm new to knife sharpening and need some advice. I want to start sharpening with a whetstone, but don't know where to get started. I am going to purchase a benchmade 940 with cpm s30v steel and would like to know how to sharpen it using a whetstone. I obviously don't want to ruin a $200 knife, so I have a Kershaw Volt 2 and a Buck 113 skinner knife to practice on. So with that info out, how should I go about this? What sharpening stones do you guys recommend? I have a budget of about $100-150. Any tips? Any information is appreciated, thanks!

An edge ruined on a whetstone can always be fixed on a whetstone. If your blade happens to be coated and you pass at too low of an angle, well that is another matter :) . All I can say with regards to a recommendation is that I strongly prefer to use water over oil as a whetstone lubricant as cleaning up after water is far tidier than cleaning up after oil. YMMV.

Last edited: