Horizontal carry leather pattern for a first time maker

Bit of background- I'm new to knife making and am about to finish up a small fixed blade knife as a gift for a firefighter friend. As part of the gift, I'll also be making a sheath for the very first time. They have asked for a horizontal sheath to be worn in the small of their back around the station. I have a pattern in mind that I think will work and be relatively easy to make, but before I going reinventing the wheel I wanted to check the hive mind and see if there were any better suggestions.
Link to pic of knife because I can't figure out how to embed it.
My thought is for back of the sheath to run close to the full length of the handle to allow for a couple of belt loops. A partial fold over the blade, with a cut/taper at the finger choil, extending a little past the first pin, allowing a strap to come up and snap over the choil, preventing the blade from falling out. Does that concept make sense? Is there any reason that wouldn't work?

You knife.
xxbQCwA.jpeg

Bit of background- I'm new to knife making and am about to finish up a small fixed blade knife as a gift for a firefighter friend. As part of the gift, I'll also be making a sheath for the very first time. They have asked for a horizontal sheath to be worn in the small of their back around the station. I have a pattern in mind that I think will work and be relatively easy to make, but before I going reinventing the wheel I wanted to check the hive mind and see if there were any better suggestions.
Link to pic of knife because I can't figure out how to embed it.
My thought is for back of the sheath to run close to the full length of the handle to allow for a couple of belt loops. A partial fold over the blade, with a cut/taper at the finger choil, extending a little past the first pin, allowing a strap to come up and snap over the choil, preventing the blade from falling out. Does that concept make sense? Is there any reason that wouldn't work?