Horn Handle repair

Jon

Could anyone describe any easy way to fix cracks in the horn handle of a khuk? I have both a blem AK & BAS with cracks starting to appear in the handles. It's probably from lack of humidity - I live in WNY & the windows are closed and the heater is running at this time of year

Also, what is the best way to prevent this happening in the future? These are both khuks that were bought with repaired handles already but if I was to get a "collector khuk" I'd be upset with cracks in the handle.

Would buying wood handle khuks be a good alternative?

I'm a newbie to khukuris but I've seen a wealth of experience on various Khukuri topics here. Both of these khukuris are "users" and I'm sure my Spyderco Sharpmaker & Tuff Cloth will take care of most of the blade needs, but I'd appreciate any advice on the horn handles.

TIA.

Hi Jon:

Epoxy is the best fix. Try to get something other than the quick dry -- 2 hours or 6 even. Work the epoxy into the cracks and let it set for 24 hours. Sand it to contour.

Wood handles are subject to cracking in low humidity, too. I live in Reno where summers are 10% humidity or less and it is a problem for me.

I use boiled linseed oil on wood handles and a lanolin based hoof treatment lotion on the horn handles. It helps.

There are experts who know a lot more than me who will be around to help. Stay tuned.

------------------
Uncle Bill
Himalayan Imports Website
Khukuri FAQ

Apply non-gel super glue at first signs of a crack and buff off the top layer when dry. The regular stuff finds it's way into the smallest incipient cracks and fills them.

------------------
How many roads must a man walk down before he admits that he's lost?