Khukuri Storage

I recently received my 15" Ang Khola…wow. I had originally ordered this item primarily to satisfy my curiosity (I've been intrigued by khukuris for a long time); however, I had no idea that the knife would be as substantial and effective as it has proved to be. The geometry of the blade has an amazing ability to translate an admittedly unskilled user's efforts into awesome chopping power. I've already taken to carrying the AK behind the seat of my truck along with my other daily-use tools (so much for it being a collector's piece). I guess I'll have to start saving up for a 20" AK or maybe a Sirupati…

Now for a potentially stupid question: I'm a relative novice to the collection and use of quality knives so I thought I'd see if any of the more experienced forumites could share their wisdom. I seem to recall reading in one of the threads in this forum that it was recommended that these khukuris be stored in the sheath. I haven't been able to re-locate that particular bit of information, but I wanted to confirm this recommendation since it seems to contradict the "conventional" wisdom about storing high-carbon steel blades in sheaths made of organic materials (I had always been told that this could lead to staining of the blade). I have heard claims that some knives could be stored in wooden sheaths because the wood absorbed some of the oil coating the blade and actually contributed to rust/stain prevention. I would suppose that the type and quality of the wood (or leather) also affects blade storage. I guess I'm particularly curious about this issue because I own a couple of other knives forged of 5160 steel that have leather-wrapped wooden sheaths. Any comments or suggestions on the proper storage of these pieces would be greatly appreciated…

Jim