Kitchen knives for the non-pro, non-home-chef normal person

So, there I was, pondering kitchen knives. Let me explain. I have a friend who is a major home-chef person. I bought her a set of the Global knives some years ago because I'd heard that the Globals were very highly regarded by professionals. They are light, fit her hand well, and are very sharp. She is quite pleased with them. I gave it no more thought.

Then, I needed some kitchen knives as I moved out of a hotel into an apartment. She talked me into something santoku, or santoku something. Some no-name brand out of Target, I'm sure. The steel seems terribly soft to me. I don't abuse my knives, use a wood cutting board and rarely cut anything more challenging than a pork chop with them. But, they won't keep an edge. Fast forward a half dozen years.

Now, I've been bitten by the knife bug. It's horrible. I can't believe how much money I've spent on sharp slivers of metal. I'm a cuboid dwelling engineer and have zero use for a heavy duty tactical folder, really, but I have one in my pocket. Granted, it's an exceptionally nice one, but still. Wait. I did use my Zero Tolerance 0550 to cut a turkey burger in two to share with my girlfriend (not the same as the friend who cooks). So, there's that. "Yes, my ZT excels at food prep." Right.

Anyway, I'm pondering setting up house with this new girl and I'm thinking that not only am I prepared to spend the cash to get flatware that actually matches--maybe even some plates--but I also want some decent kitchen knives.

But, let me be clear: I'm not a pro. I don't even want to be a pro; I have no illusions in this area.

What I would like is a small set of really good knives, or at least a fantastic 4" or 6" utility/paring knife, which is what I will use almost all the time anyway. Also, I am a damascus freak, so if I could get a lovely damascus version of whatever, I'd be all over it.