Leatherman Blast For First Time User?

I am a computer science student, but these days I find myself helping friends and family with their computer hardware. I was also caught off guard recently when I realised that I lacked a saw to work with a plank of wood. Then there are the times when I was out at camps (indoor!) and found the need for simple things like screwdrivers and pliers.

This led me to decide to ask for help in buying my first multitool, after having been a lurker here for quite awhile :)

I am considering the Leatherman Blast. It doesnt seem too expensive, which is good since I am a student with minimal income. However, the posts in some recent threads seem to point to the newer Leatherman tools being of rather dubious quality. Should I be concerned, or is this only likely to be an issue with people who use the tools in more rugged environments every day?

Also, is it worth getting the removable bit driver? The wider assortment of screwdriver bits sounds useful, but to be honest I have never actually had occasion to use hex or torx bits.

Hi laserlight, welcome to BFC. If I understand your situation correctly, you should do fine with the Blast. I have been very happy with Leatherman products as a casual user. As a tradesperson, I can get real picky about what works in the field and what doesn't...so anything negative I may say in a thread is coming from an individual who, at times, may misuse/abuse.;)

I prefer Victorinox products over Leatherman as I find Victorinox slightly higher in quality and more reasonably priced.

There have been several cases of the bit driver on the Leathermans failing. It appears to be a flawed design.

The Victorinox wood saw is considered one of the best on any multitool. If you are looking for a plier based tool Victorinox has the original SwissTool and the Spirit. There are also many knife based products that have a saw, but the pliers on these are not for heavy use.