Legal troubles with autos in Canada.

Hey! Im getting two O.T.F. knifes off amozon.com I want to get there third gen Schrade Viper 4034 and the Schrade SCHOTF6. I bought them on amozon.com but i live in Canada. And i will need to take them across the border. I just wanted to know if this was legal because i have been hearing that since the switch is on the blade it is legal but then i went to the cbsa website and saw that the same brand and type of knife was illegal in Canada. The SCHOTF3B Viper Out-the-Front Assisted Opening knife from Schrade meets the criteria of a PROHIBETED WEAPON as laid out in the Criminal Code and Memorandum D19-13-2 and is therefore classified under tariff item 9898.00.00 by GIR 1. Im new to the whole otf/automatic knife scene and any advise would be greatly appreciated thanks!

Cheers- Andreas!

We don't generally discuss the legal side of automatic knives to protect the forum and its participants from government harassment. Personally, from what I've read from Canadians about your Customs and non-auto knives, you should cancel your order asap.

There is a bladeforums.com forums called "knife laws" that would be a better place to ask.

In the USA, the models you refer to are categorized as assisted openers, not automatics. However, that doesn't mean Canada law categorizes them the same way. Definitely check before you attempt anything that might land you in trouble.

^yep. agree with brownshoe

canada is not very knife friendly in many ways compared to the usa, and the usa in certain sections isn't so friendly either. those are assisted opens not autos , but same thing under canadian law i believe? banned knife is a banned knife. those assisted openers are likely illegal in canada. canada doesn't like springs and knives to be together....generally. cancel that order and don't get in big trouble for a spring.....