New to knifemaking

Hello,
Im new to this forum and i was wondering if anyone could suggest the best way to get started in knifemaking. I recently purchased a knife kit and i wanted to know if anyone could suggest a good knifemaking book.Im thinking about buying a sander grinder and would like some suggestions also.
Thank you

you might have better luck over in the shop talk forum, still under blade discussion forum. as to your question, i'm afraid i can't help you. Welcome to bladeforums.

- Pete

Shop Talk is usually the place to ask questions about making knives. A good book to try would be Loveless and Barney's How to Make Knives. You should probably start out with some sort of 2x72" belt grinder if you want to make your own blades as well. Some cheap 2x72"s are the Grizzly and the Coote. I have the Grizzly, and I think it works pretty well. The Grizzly has a buffer on the side of it too, so it's very versatile.

I am new to this also so take it for what it is worth. I just bought a 2x72 Coote with a 8" wheel. It was recomended to me by a 10yr pro knife maker. He had his all that time withzero problems. I have had it for just a week,fooling around grinding all scrap just to get a "feel" for it ,but it seems to be preety good. It cost $450 including shiiping,with a tool rest($35) for doing hollow grinding on the wheel. It is welll built and very user friendly. Here is his info........N.E. Coote 231 Mats View Dr. Port Ludlow,WA 98365......Ph/Fax..360-437-0366...E-MAIL..coote@olypen.com.... Real nice people,I think it is a small family buisness. Give them a call, but not at 6 a.m. like I did. I felt like a dope but they didnt hold it against me:D good grinding:D :D :D :D

Be sure to post this as well as do some searches in the shop talk forum, its full of great stuff.