New to sharpening

Hello,
I'm new to knife sharpening and have been research all kinds of sharpeners. Any suggestions would be great.

First question is what types of steels will you be sharpening, or what knives do you have?

I recommend the WorkSharp. If you are familiar with belt sanders, this is extremely easy and effective to use. It will give you a convex edge if you like that, and is very fast.

Easy to modify to fit larger diameter belts and such as well.

If you prefer non-powered, then sharpmaker is always a good place to start.

High end, Wicked Edge for best consistency and performance.

I recommend the WorkSharp. If you are familiar with belt sanders, this is extremely easy and effective to use. It will give you a convex edge if you like that, and is very fast.

Easy to modify to fit larger diameter belts and such as well.

If you prefer non-powered, then sharpmaker is always a good place to start.

High end, Wicked Edge for best consistency and performance.
I'm not familiar with a belt sander and don't want to risk ruining my knife. Seen videos of people that have destroyed knive

I suggest a Sharpmaker as well. It's a good place to start that doesn't break the bank. You can upgrade at a later date.

Keep in mind the Sharpmaker is great at keeping knives sharp. It's strength isn't reprofiling knives or bringing a totally dull knife back from the dead.

I usually recommend the Spyderco Sharpmaker or the KME system.

The Sharpmaker is a great, cost effective way to maintain the performance of your edges.

The KME, while more expensive than the Sharpmaker, allows you a lot more flexibility in edge maintenance. It even performs almost, if not as well as the ultra high end systems like a Wicked Edge or TSProf K series.

Of course, if budget's not a concern you can swing for the fence and go with one of the two latter mentioned systems. I've used them both with great success, but they are very expensive.