New to Tomahawks - a few questions

I'm new to Tomahawks and trying to decide what to go for first. My primary interest is as a martial artist, however understanding their practicality as a tool is important to me as well, so I have a few questions. Here goes:

Why does the Vietnam tomahawk have a straight edge when most 'hawks seem to have curved ones?

What advantages does this offer over a curved edge and what are the tradeoffs?

How are Tomahawks normally employed as entry tools - hack through doors/smash glass, etc. or more subtle techniques?

What disadvantages do Tomahawks have against a similarly sized hatchet/camp axe when compared as tools?

How is tool use/safety affected by the inclusion of added weapon features such as a spike or beak, or sharpening of the hooking edge?

What is the weight of the ATC Ranger filed grade (wasn't on the site)?

Thanks

Dom

Hi Dom,

You didn't ask the wrong questions, Andy was out of the office today and didn't get a chance to answer yours yet but I'll take a shot at a couple of them......

As for martial arts you'll find that a LOT of the styles benefit from incorporating the tomahawk into the weapons fighting. There are several styles that are currently using a tomahawk template for fighting and the added ability for trapping and clearing weapons from hands, etc is a huge plus.

The tomahawk is also currently used in the breaching kits by the Army for whatever and whenever they need it. We've heard stories here of guys using the tomahawks to go thru doors, break hasps and locks to clear locked rooms and Conex shipping containers, clearing glass out of windows for sniper positions and surveillence and even down to chipping ice off of large blocks so the guys can each have a little for their canteens.

As a camping tool you won't find a better multiple use tool from chopping wood, cutting down trees, clearing brush, breaking up hard ground for pitching tents and more.