Review Nitecore Tube.

knarfeng

senex morosus moderator
Staff member
Super Mod
Probably not news to the folks who hang out here, but I was impressed by this gadget and had to post about it. A search did not reveal a thread about it.

https://www.nitecorestore.com/Nitec...MImdvb4P2V3gIVGMNkCh1LSQghEAAYASAAEgIFoPD_BwE

I have several AAA flashlights designed for EDC. This rechargeable Tube blows them out of the water for handiness. I've been carrying one daily for a couple of months now. I am thoroughly impressed.

♦ The 1 lumen setting is perfect for finding the keyhole on a dark porch. It also is enough to light the stairs at night when I don't want to turn on the lights. For me, the 48-hour run time puts this in the "always carry, just in case" category.
♦ The 45 lumen setting will light my path outside on a dark night. And it will last an hour on that setting.

I've had occasion to use both modes and think they about perfect for my needs as an urban homeowner. If there were a moonlight setting, I'd be even happier, but the lack is not sufficient to decrease my admiration for this design.

With a $10 price tag it pegs the bang-for-the-buck meter. Recommended.

I have one. It's really the best keychain light I've ever used. The fact that it's usb rechargeable makes it much more convenient that the ones that take button cells.

I carry a Tube on my keychain. I almost always have a backup 1AAA on me, so it's not as important to me that the Tube will sometimes come on in my pocket. It's probably not so important in a more urban environment, especially when your phone can usually serve as a short-term backup.

I also have a Nitecore Tip, which is just a bit bigger, but comes with a clip (new model) and 2 different ways to prevent accidentally turning it on. I like it much better than the Tube, but it might be a little too big for a keychain for some.