On Playing Wordle . . .

sgt1372

Platinum Member
Note: I previously posted a version of this msg in the "CPK - Random Thought" thread but thought it would get better exposure here.

------------------------------------------------------------

Anyone else here playing (or interested in playing) "Wordle" online? See: Wordle - A Daily Word Game.

It's free; no registration required. I started playing it about a week ago.

Note: There is a phone app called "Wordle" BUT it is NOT the game I'm and others are talking about. It's a PNP game that people have mistakenly downloaded and paid for thinking that it is the game everyone is talking about. It's NOT. Wordle is only available online and is FREE!

Wordle is a variation on "Hangman." You have to "guess" a 5 letter word in 6 tries or less. I've come close to getting stumped but haven't missed a word yet. I've been averaging 4 tries for each word; low of 3 and high of 6.

My 1st 2 tries are devoted to using 2 words that contain all of the vowels and some commonly used consonants. So, unless the mystery word is one of the words used in the 1st 2 tries, I can never guess word in less than 3 tries.

If you need more information, there are a lot of articles online providing "tips" on how to play the game.

-----------------------------------------

There is only 1 new word puzzle a day -- the same word for everyone -- and you can "share" your results w/others w/o giving away the word by posting your results for the day which looks like this.

Wordle 215 4/6

⬜⬜⬜⬜⬜
⬜🟩🟨🟨⬜
🟩🟩🟨🟩⬜
🟩🟩🟩🟩🟩

The WHITE boxes mean that none of the letters used is in the word. GREEN boxes mean that the letter is in the word and is in the correct position. And the YELLOW box means that the letter is in the word but not in the correct position.

Sometimes, a letter can be used more than once, which makes guessing the word a bit more difficult.