Questions and suggestions

I know as a novice I have some questions on leathercrafting, and could use some suggestions or advice.
I'll start with this...I use veg-tanned leather from Tandy (first mistake?), and am having a problem with Fieblings black dye. I just can't seem to get a nice dark black. Some places don't seem to want to uptake the dye at all.
Here is my current process. I deglaze the leather with alcohol and a dauber. I allow this to completely dry. I slightly dampen the leather with warm water using a sponge, then I apply the dye with a foam brush. Wipe off any excess.
I am not having a problem with other dyes, just this professional black dye from Fieblings.
:confused:

Thanks for any help, y'all.

Chuck

At what point in the making process are you dying the leather?

If it is after you have stitched it, I would suggest that when you deglaze the leather you use an old towell and give it a good wiping down as in trying to clean it as the wax from the thread and oil from your hands needs to be removed.

Use up your Tandy leather and get some Wickett and Craig. They are now selling double shoulders. The cost may be a little higher than what you are paying. But trust me it is good stuff.

If you buy the Wickett and Craig and do not like it for any reason, I will buy what you have left.

www.wickett-craig.com

They just started selling the double shoulders. Just call them and ask for Glenn. He will hook you up.

First of all, theres no reason to suspect Tandy's leather, as long as you stay away from the cheaper grades your ok. Anything less than #2 is to be avoided, most of it is imported sub grade stuff that neither cuts or stains well. Also stay away from Belly leather, its the worst cut by far. Hand pick #2 and above and you'll be ok, I dig through piles at the Leather Factory to get what I like/want.