Rendezvous Throwing

Hi guys, New to the forum but have been throwing for a while now. I won’t say I’m old because I won’t let the “old man in” but, I’m way past 60! I’ve been doing Living History rendezvousing for about 12 years and this is where I throw, in Hawk and Knife competition and was wondering if any of you guys (and gals) do the same?

I started out with, and stayed with until a few weeks ago, a Fort Turner Bowie style thrower and the same brand Hawk. But Fort Turner is out of business now and I wanted to find something else to try. I tried a few but nothing would compare to the FT. I just tried a Cold Steel True Balance blade. I never thought I would find one that suites me better than the For Turner but I think I have.

My wife also throws and she likes it too. Having only had thrown a Beaver Bill thrower and liked it, I’m surprised she did. (So, I bought her one to keep peace.)

Are any of you into Rendezvous throwing? If so, what do you use and do you follow the NMLRA rules? A lot of the rendezvous we go to do.

I attend a couple of "Mountain Man style" throwing events where all knife throwing is handle only, i.e., 1 and 2 spin and hawk throwing is 1, 1-1/2 or 2 spin throwing when possible. (I also attend non-MM style knife throwing events that have half-spin distances included and no-spin throwing. I'd attend double-bit throws if there were any in range.)

The Texas State Mountain Man Championship throw changed its name to "Texas State Mountain Man Style Championship" because a-hs who had not been to the throw in 4/5/6/7 years pitched a fit because the mandatory requirement to dress in pure pre-1840 style clothing was dropped. The dress code was relaxed in order to increase the level of participation so the event would not die, which would have happened had the rules not been relaxed.