Requesting Newbie Straight Razor Advice

I want to start using a straight razor to shave with.

I have never used one before. To start myself off, I want something which is:

1. Budget oriented, but...

2. ...Not junk, and...

3. ...Easy to sharpen.

I want to go cheap because I will likely buy more than one so that I can practice on one and use the other as a backup and a point of reference.

I do not want to have to spend too much time sharpening, because that would make it too impractical. I was thinking of a chisel grind for the simplicity, but I don't know whether a chisel grind is a bad idea or not because I don't have any experience using one to shave.

Any and all advice is welcome and appreciated. This also includes random and general tips related to the subject of straight razors and shaving with them. I welcome that too.

Last edited:
That's a big set of questions. The reality is that you will not get any of your three criteria. It's not that easy, even though straight prices are not so insane as they were a few years ago, they are still expensive if you want anything at all good. But budget is subjective, I'd expect right now to pay around 100$usd for something nearing shave ready. Not much new in that range last I looked, and unless you want to really gun for vintage on your own, you'd burn past that easily before you find a decent razor in all likelihood.

What do you have for sharpening gear? I don't own any stones that are used on both knives and razors, but you might have something that will work as a starting point.

What are your overall time-budget, $-budget, and current shave method?

To exaggerate to make a point, you are asking which F1-car will be good to drive without telling anyone if you even have a learner's permit yet (Yes, I'm exaggerating, and making a point)