Rookie wet forming question

I need advice on wet forming leather sheaths. So far most of my experience has been in Kydex, or just simple pouch sheaths. Anything will help, from when to do it (after profiling right), how to size properly for the stretch, differences in stainless or carbon steel knives, blade protection (read- rust), materials......

Like I said rookie question and I am sure others have this question as well but are too shy to ask (I have no shame).;)
A tutorial perhaps?

I'm also a rookie, but will tell you how I do it at least.

I make my pattern, cut, dye, glue up, trim and slick edges, stitch it, then wet the sheath, insert the knife and form it by hand and with the help of whatever appropriately shaped wood handles of my tools I have lying around. I usually put a layer or two of oil and a layer or two of seran wrap on my carbon knives to protect from rust. I've never had one rust though because I usually only leave it in the wet sheath for a little bit. After that I let the sheath dry completely and then put whatever finish I'm using on it.

Hope this helps until the experts show up. This is just what has been working for me.

I need advice on wet forming leather sheaths. So far most of my experience has been in Kydex, or just simple pouch sheaths. Anything will help, from when to do it (after profiling right), how to size properly for the stretch, differences in stainless or carbon steel knives, blade protection (read- rust), materials......

Like I said rookie question and I am sure others have this question as well but are too shy to ask (I have no shame).;)
A tutorial perhaps?

I'm not what I call an expert but I hope this helps
http://www.knivesby.com/dan-sheath-tutor-1.html
I rouph it out first then mold it, it gives me more control in the end.
that link is located here
http://www.knivesby.com/knifemaking.html :)
many times I'll just mold them by hand .. instead of using the PVC press

Last edited: