Sam Wilson - P.A.C.K. Lite fixed blade

Recently I put my hands on Sam Wilson's P.A.C.K. Lite knife (it's a mid-tech line of Sam's knives and it's called TekLine). I've been using it for about 6 weeks now, so let me share some thoughts (and photos) of this fixed blade buddy.

I’m certainly not a newcomer if we talk hollow handle knives. I’ve been using them for about 20+ years now. And I’m not talking about „Rambo knives” but things like CRK MK.VI, which you can see in my hand in the photo below (me and my buddy after using it to clear some branches during heavy rain). It was taken easily 20 years ago... yes, that guy on the left with MK.VI is a young version of me! Photo taken by my wife, she was on a sailing boat and waiting for me with a camera:

mk6_old1.jpg

And here it is compared to my CRK Scout, a 1-off moded Ubejane, which left CRK facility the way you see it after Chris did his magic to it. Still that CRK Scout is a relatively heavy survival knife, made to abuse... but it'd be an ultralight hiker's nightmare. It certainly has its place, but it is not something I'd carry when mountaineering with a light pack. Now times have changed and I prefer lighter knives, especially when hiking. Still, there’s something cool about hollow handle knives… and now Sam combined the hollow handle idea with lightweight (but still tough) construction.

samwilson_pam_web-13.jpg

samwilson_pam_web-2.jpg