Shapton pro

I'm having a hard time developing any mud on these stones... it takes a few minutes and sharpening with very very hard pressure.. is this normal cause after watching some YouTube videos it seems to develop a lot easier for other people

Which stones are you using? Some make more slurry than others. Are you using enough water? I know they say just spray them, but even with my Glass stones, I must keep them very wet. You shouldn't need much pressure though! Sounds like your running them dry. Remember that splash and go stones won't build up as much mud as standard water stones that get soaked.

I haven't used my Shapton Pros much, so I'm not an expert. I don't get much slurry either. It doesn't seem to hurt the results. You could rub with a nagura stone (I think it's called) to produce slurry. I just keep them wet and not worry about it.

Yea it doesn't seem to make a difference and I also keep a spray bottle close and keep it wet.. I seen some videos where they get muddy quick without using a nagura or slurry stone and without it getting muddy it seems to load up and not remove as much material. And this is the 2k,5k, and 8k. The 1k is no problem that is an aggressive stone

Shapton Pros are spash and go. Not muddy at all when I use them. The 320 will develop some slurry, but above 1000, I haven't noticed much. You can use a nagura and develop some mud if you really want to.

The coarse stones will develop some mud as would be expected but its mainly swarfy water from 1k and up.

I guess what I'm saying is if I don't see grey on the stone how do I know I'm Doing anything? I might be weird but i love seeing a puddle of black water on my stones

That's my question swarfy water not mud.. sry still learning some terms I guess