Simonich Blades in the Amazon

Ravens and Crowfoots in the Amazon :eek: :D

Just got back from a 5 day fishing trip on the Rio Roosevelt in the Amazon basin, the Raven, Urban Raven and Crowfoot went along. This area is accessable only by air unless you want a 400 mile boat ride. As I had thought beforehand, the Crowfoot saw yeoman’s duty; I’ve been carrying the CF for 6 months as a neck knife. What a great little blade! Cleaned fish, cut rope, baitfish (through bones and all) carved an inch and a half splinter out of my foot and served food. I had the native guide use the UR, he fell in love with it. I found the guard provided additional security when the knife was wet with sweat or fish entrails. The ring on the CF proved to be especially handy, as while retying lines it would just dangle from the pinkie finger until needed to trim lines. I didn’t sharpen the knives during the trip, the S30V worked like a champ. The only problem was with rust spots on the Raven, which saw limited use but was wet for 3 of the 5 days, when I returned home, a few minutes with 800 grit SiC cleaned it up with no pits, no problem. If I had taken a little more care I don’t believe there would have been any problem at all.
The Crowfoot and UR where cleaned up each day with fine sand from a handy sand bar, rinsed off and dried on my shirt tail.

I can’t say enough about Rob’s blades, they performed beyond my expectations. I would not hesitate to take em anywhere.

Now Rob, if you would just start building customs again.

Thanks Rob

Oh yeah the fishing was great, we go back in a couple of weeks!
:D

Steve, I am always glad to get field reports, good or bad! Glad everything worked well for you.

I am not surprised anymore 0n the S30-V surface rust. I may try a Jerry Hossom trick and etch the blades slightly to get rid of the dsurface iron and create an oxide layer to improve corrosion resistance.