SOG Bowie 661 on top of handle. I have had it for 12 years or more. Need info please

Yes I have a SOG Bowie. Never used. Has 661 on the top of handle in the brass. I need information please. Thanks. I wish I could figure out how to send pictures.

Last edited by a moderator:
Is this a Vietnam-era S.O.G. issue blade, or the SOG Specialty S1 made by Hattori?

EDIT: What kind of information are you looking for?

Last edited:
Vietnam style. On the top of the handle in the brass 099. I had one the same style but it was a special made. Like for seal's or something. Anyway I was showing it somewhere and a Vietnam veteran pleading for it. He said it was just like the one I carried. So I let him buy it. God bless our veterans. Any information would be appreciated thanks.

Either threads wasn't about price. I am looking for all information I can get. Not price. Sorry if I broke a rule with wording but I am new to this.

Yes I have a SOG Bowie. Never used. Has 661 on the top of handle in the brass. I need information please. Thanks.I wish I could figure out how to send pictures.
Yes I was wrong. The number on top is 099 not 661.

Last edited by a moderator:
Really need to see photos of your knife to address your request for information.
Verbal descriptions won't cut it. You say that there is a number 099 on the top of the handle, which is the pommel.
All actually used MACV-CISO Ben Baker SOG knives from Vietnam were sterile, meaning completely unmarked.
So I suspect you have something else, but we need to see the knife.
You can upload your photos to a free image hostjmg site, such as imgur.and use the 5th icon from the right on top of the posting box to put in the url to the photo. If that's too difficult, just type the url to your photo in your post.

Really need to see photos of your knife to address your request for information.
Verbal descriptions won't cut it. You say that there is a number 099 on the top of the handle, which is the pommel.