Stroppy Stuff, what do I need to get started.

I have a TSPROF Kadet Pro with the TSPROF diamond stones. I wanted to add some strops to my kit but I am not sure what grit (or grits) to get. I need both the strop and the stroppy stuff.

I see that Gritomatic has the strop and the stroppy stuff together in a package with a Kangaroo leather strop. Is the kangaroo leather a good strop? Which grit or grits should i start with?

Thanks
-g

I have the same set up and use 9 micron applied to a standard leather strop to finish my blades. This results in a near mirror (to the naked eye) finish.

I never managed to get stropping right in my guided sharpeners. I'd just cut up the strop. Stones were easy; I don't know why I could not manage the strops.

I never managed to get stropping right in my guided sharpeners. I'd just cut up the strop. Stones were easy; I don't know why I could not manage the strops.
I am new to this so I could be wrong but I think that you have to limit your strokes to pulling across the knife and not pushing. If that makes any sense.

Yeah, I knew that and I did that. Still managed to ruin strops consistently.
The only thing I could think of is you are dragging the strop across the tip of the blade and this is slicing your strop.
Be careful when you come close to the tip. Don't go over too much and don't let the tip bite in your strop.

The only thing I could think of is you are dragging the strop across the tip of the blade and this is slicing your strop.
Be careful when you come close to the tip. Don't go over too much and don't let the tip bite in your strop.
No doubt you are correct. However, I've entirely moved on to hand stropping, so I'm no longer trying to acquire the skill.

I use a guided sharpening system and hand strop. I find hand stropping pretty easy once you do it a few times. I use a balsa paddle and set it on the table and sit in the chair. Try to get the strop closer to eye level then use a pushing away from me motion.