Tri-ad slop fix?

I am new to cold steel with this recon 1 I picked up a few months ago. I admit that I didn't care for it much at first, but I have come to terms, and I now appreciate it for what it is. My only real issue now is the lock slop. It isn't much, maybe a little over a 32nd of an inch at the tip. If I press real hard on the lock I can usually get a solid lock. Is this normal, or did I get the only triad that is loose?

Sounds normal. Those locks like to be flicked with authority which sets the lock deep. It should sink deeper as it wears in. A clever design feature I instantly appreciated. If you don't trust it, don't risk failure. Just contact CS and keep your fingers crossed.

I have flicked it as hard as I can, but the triad just doesn't want to lock tight. I have spine wacked it on a plastic jug twice as hard as it takes for my ZT to fail, and it doesn't budge. I have 100% confidence in it. It just sucks when someone wants to check it out. I get the cold steel look, then a sloppy lock and a chuckle. Truth be told, I would have done the same thing a year ago. Maybe I need to beat the crap out of it to seat the wedge?

For the record, this XHP is pretty incredible. Benchmade' M4 holds an edge 2 to 3 times longer, but the XHP is 10 times easier to sharpen. I haven't been to hard on the elmax yet, but the bar is set high for a user blade.

Is it new or used? If new, may want to just return it for a new one. If used, and you feel comfortable doing it, could take it apart to check it out and see if there is anything obvious. I had a similar issue with a Mini Recon I that I got used off eBay...if I really flicked it hard it was OK, but if not it wouldn't always lock up tight. Took it apart and bent the lock spring a bit to put more tension on the lock bar...was fine after that.

IIRC there was a similar post where the knife had been disassembled and the lock bar pin and blade stop pin were switched.I also might be misremembering.Just a thought.