Tuxedo; #49

rprocter

BANNED
i recently bought this Camillus #49, a 3", delrin, tuxedo, on ebay. story: given to him by "an old knife collector in early 1970s".
i like this knife, the fit & finish is made to very fine tolerances. but i do wonder about it's age; 3 line stamp, CAMILLUS not underlined, and if the clamshell box is original to knife as box says: SWORD BRAND/Hand Made, but knife has no Sword Brand markings.
any info on this pattern, or ideas about this knife will be appreciated. roland

Attachments

• IMGP0741.JPG
    IMGP0741.JPG
    33.6 KB · Views: 45
  • IMGP0748.JPG
    IMGP0748.JPG
    30.4 KB · Views: 41
  • IMGP0745.JPG
    IMGP0745.JPG
    25.7 KB · Views: 30
  • IMGP0746.JPG
    IMGP0746.JPG
    21.9 KB · Views: 30
I'm no expert, just an enthusiast trying to learn. The stamp looks to be dated 1946 to 1956. I suspect that the box doesn't match the knife. I hope someone more knowledgeable will be able to give the definitive answer. Nice knife, nice condition.

Delrin was not available before 1960/61. These knives are shown in my circa 1976 catalog, though they may have been also produced earlier. The price at that time was $7.00

thanks Codger, for what it's worth, this box has $5 price tag. but, safe to assume wrong box as a Sword Brand knife would "always" be marked as such ?

Sigh.... The catalog page I mentioned was labeled Sword Brand and Camillus. Most of the knives on the page don't illustrate the S.B. etch or tang stamp. I have no idea of the age or origin of your box. Sword Brand was added to the Camillus marks in 1906 and used off and on for many years. As usual, you will have to wait for Mr. Williams or someone else more knowledgable on Camillus than I for these answers.

I do not believe that the model #49 was a Sword Brand knife. If it was, it would be stamped or etched Sword Brand on the blade.