Want to be a machete guy?!?!

I have been packing axes/hatchets around on all my trips for over 20+ years. I like them, and know how to use them.

In late June I have an opportunity to head east to Montana on a 5 day trip. We will be heading to the East Rose Bud trail. I have a friend that has done this trip many times, and has a route off he beaten path we have been looking over.

Reference:

http://matadornetwork.com/trips/9-montana-backpacking-trips-that-will-blow-your-mind

http://www.thebackpacker.com/trails/mt/trail_739.php

Sooooo I want to go lite. As lite as possible without loosing too much in the way of comfort, and basic tools/gear needed (the catch 22 for all backpackers huh).

My thought was to trade my hatchet for a good 13"-16" machete. I have looked at many over the last few days, and am at a complete loss.

For those of you that use/own them. What do you recommend.

Custom...... like a Fiddleback....... Go for the "Mora" of machetes like Martindale or Condor..... Try to find the middle ground?

In addition to the machete I will be carrying either my Bahco Lapplander, or Silky pocket boy, and Vic Super Tinker. I want the machete to replace my hatchet, and fixed blade..... or at least that was my thought. Kind of want to stay around the 13" to 14" range.

I'm looking at the Martindale 13" croc golok right now, but for $10.00 more I can get a ESEE?!?!? I'm stumped.:eek::confused: Thanks in advance to all! :thumbup:

Edited to add: pics of you machete folks dominating the wilds with your chosen machete are always a plus. ;)

Wanted to add..... I'm also looking over the Tramontina 14" bush machete. For $30.00 + shipping I can get it + a sheath and it's made from 1070. Seems to be a good deal..... but I'm not necessarily looking for a good deal. Just a good machete.