What do you consider to be "sharp?"

STR

Knifemaker/Moderator
I got to talking last night with Richard J. about this on the phone. Almost went horse we talked so long but we got to talking about sharpness among other things.

One of the things that I've often been, well I don't want say puzzled so much as surprised I guess, but one of the things that has surprised me is when I get a knife and they want a job like a clip or pivot pin replaced or just a lock looked at and I notice the edge and think that could use a touch up. So I mention it of course and sometimes I think I've inadvertantly upset someone because they thought it was fine. In fact some have told me no, don't touch that I just got it where I like it. And yet to me its a far cry from where I'd put it. Not all the time, and I'm no expert mind you but I keep mine a bit sharper I guess than most.

What about you guys? And what sharpening system or method do you use and prefer? I really want to know.

Maybe we can knock heads a bit and see what we all have in common and what we don't have in common regarding a good edge that is fine and one that could use some maintenance.

STR

I use Spyderco 701 Profile stones. I also use a Lansky and I have a ton of extra stones for that.

I can get my knives shaving sharp. If it can push cut a thin store receipt and shave the hair on the underside of my forearm I'm a happy camper.

I'm sure others like it much sharper. ;)