What knife do you like to dress game with?

Minnesota

BANNED
Hi, I'm pretty new to hunting. I've only been once, Oct '08. Got an 8-pointer btw. Anyways, this is pretty bad but I didn't dress it. I was on my uncle's friend's property and niether me, my dad or uncle knew how to do it. So, my uncles friend did it. I was expecting my uncle's friend to have a pretty big knife for some reason but all he used was some sort of really thin scandi boning knife. Maybe 5.5" blade?

Well it seemed to work pretty well for him. I imagine the thin blade worked pretty well slicing through meat. I've seen on here people using all sorts of different stuff. I'd like to give hunting another shot (;)) this year. I'm not really looking for suggestions I'm more curious to see what other people use and why. So, what do you use and why? :)

I use a crk inyoni, I like the way it handles and it's light weight. used it on every thing from deer to brook trout

For deer I *really* like my Gerber Freeman Hunter. I know Gerber's not fashionable or whatever but that blade takes a very nice edge and the hand is really well thought out for good grip even while goopy.

I've started using a Spyderco Endura 50/50 for many deer. The serated edge is good for cutting up the breast bone.

I used a USA Old Timer Sharpfinger for many years.

I love these 2 blades for field dressing deer... Rosarms Companion 2 and ESEE Izula. Obviously I use just one of the 2 at a time so my pick just depends how I'm feeling on the morning of the hunt. I like a small blade, around 3 inches, I feel I have better control.

Heck I've even dressed a moose with the izula (sub 3 inch blade) and never had any trouble.

But more important than any blade type is knowing how to do it... look on youtube to find tutorials. I just checked on google and there are a TON of links too. Just remember to take your time and watch for the bladder.

Good luck and let us know how it turns out! :)

2ndweekend007.jpg

moose2009014.jpg