What size of thread and needle for hand sewing a leather sheath?

Hi. I'm new to sewing and making a sheath in general, but want to try it. I plan on using 9-10 oz leather and plan on getting all the basic tools and leather off eBay. Since its my first and probably make mistakes I want to keep the cost down. I got a drill press and plan on drilling all the thread holes. What size of drill bit? 1mm, 1/16"? And how far should the holes be spaced? I have no clue on needle size and types of thread to use. What would you guys recommend for a new guy?

Hi. I'm new to sewing and making a sheath in general, but want to try it. I plan on using 9-10 oz leather and plan on getting all the basic tools and leather off eBay. Since its my first and probably make mistakes I want to keep the cost down. I got a drill press and plan on drilling all the thread holes. What size of drill bit? 1mm, 1/16"? And how far should the holes be spaced? I have no clue on needle size and types of thread to use. What would you guys recommend for a new guy?

I will try and help out as much as I can, but I am by no means expert in leather craft, I am a newbie to it. Tandy Leather Factory carries all the tools you need, but to start out you do not need that much. You can do a few things like buying beginners kit, or just a few pieces. For the thread Tandy sells the waxed 25 yard 25 pound breakage thread, I have been using that up till recently and it's fine. The needles I use are size 0 and 000 harness needles, not sure these are the best but the manager at Tandy suggested these as they are much stronger than the stitching needles with the big eyes, and I can attest to that, I've had the eye's snap on me when backstitching and needed to push through with the handle end of my awl.

Tools:
Box opener/x-acto knife #11 blades work for me. I also bought a Fiskars cutter that looks like a pizza cutter.
Overstitch wheel to mark the needle holes and clean up the stitching when finished.