Whats your favorite vintage fly reel ?

I haven't fly fished for about 30 years. I enjoyed it, but just got busy with life, and never got around to picking it back up...

Lately I have been thinking about getting started in it again. When my grandpa passed away 6 years ago, I got his old fishing poles, reels, and tackle.
Today I went out to the shed and brought in his old fly pole and reel.

I can't find any markings on the pole, but the reel is a Pflueger Medallist. I did some research, and found the reel was made in the 50's.
I plan on using this setup, but wondered if anyone else here, has a favorite vintage fly reel.

Im not much of a fly fisherman but have dabbled in it for 40 years. I use them almost strictly for bluegill . I have never understood the need for expensive fly reels but then again I am a novice. All I use the reel for is to hold string , as I bring the fish in by pulling the line with my hands and not the reel handle. Anyway a few years ago i bought a Bass pro combo. Its junk. The reel keeps falling apart and the rod doesnt stay together. Im now back to using my forty year old cheap Martin reel on the bass pro rod.

I usually always prefer older stuff. It might not be the latest and greatest, but it always seems to work.

If someone blindfolded me, I wouldn't be able to tell the difference between a 20 dollar reel, and a 200 dollar reel.

I'm still using my old Eagle Claw spinning rod, that I got for my birthday about 35 years ago. Stii has the Mitchell 300 on it that I got at the same time.

I never thought of fly fishing for Bluegill. We have some good spots here for them. May have to give that a try

MartinFlyReel.jpg

Martin "tuna can reel"

Great thread! First: flyfishing for bluegills is awesome and you can have a ton of fun on a small farm pond with a few popper flies. That is how I was taught to use a fly rod and only later did I learn that you can catch trout w a fly rod.