which DMT combo?

I'm new to this knife thing; since Xmas I've gotten a Leatherman Wave, Buck 110 and Buck Nighthawk. I put a bit of a chip in the 110 whittling my daughter's pinewood derby car, so now I need to learn to sharpen. I have read a lot of posts and visited a lot of web sites re sharpening. I also have the Razor Edge book and Steve Bottorf's new book.

I have pretty much decided to try free-hand sharpening with a 2-sided diamond hone from DMT. My question is, what combo? Do I go for coarse/fine, or fine/extra fine, or what? I have read some posts where people indicate that the coarse takes off so much steel that it is useful only for re-profiling an edge. Am I better off with the fine/extra fine? Would that be enough to get rid of the chip?

TIA

Aeneas, welcome to the forums. Your answer will depend on your application of the blade. I have found for light repair & general use the fine/coarse combo works well. If you desire a really fine finish you may want to consider the ultra fine (Green?). You can usually take care of a fair amount of damage with the coarse, restore an edge bevel etc... The fine is then used to "finish" the edge if desired. You may also want to consider a small ceramic stone to remove the burr.

Be advised I have also found that the diamonds require a "break-in" period. You may want to practice first on something other than your good knives.

Hmm. Well I've got all the DMT Bench-sized Diamond stones, Fine, Xtra Fine, and Coarse. Almost everything I do is with the fine and the extra fine. Coarse is only used for re-beveling an edge, or repairing a really badly dinged blade, or sharpening an axe, but I hopefully never let my knives get that bad where I have to re-bevel one. The coarse stone really removes the metal fast, almost too fast sometimes.