Wood Handles for Hard-Use Knives..Your Experiece??

So,

There is this local maker who prefers to offer his knives with wood handles. And given that I really respect his style and artistry, I am planning on buying a couple of his knives with wood handles. But, I have very little experience with wood handles, and have heard all sorts of horror stories about them moving and cracking, etc.

To the point-

1) What has been your experience with wood handles in use?

2) Any wood rise to the top as a proven performer?

3) Sought after characteristics would be reistance to moisture, toughness, what else?

4) What 5 woods would be the best for a knife handle?

In short, what all do you all know about wood for knife handles that I should know?

------------------
Thank you,
Marion David Poff aka Eye mdpoff@hotmail.com

My website, guided links, talonite/cobalt alloy info, etc....
http://www.geocities.com/mdpoff

>>--->Bill Siegle Custom Knives<---<<
-http://www.geocities.com/siegleknives-

"To wait for luck is the same as waiting for death." -Japanese Proverb

"A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step." Lao Tzu

"We will either find a way, or make one." Hannibal, 210 B.C.

Wood handled utility knives have been good for me. I like Desert Ironwood and Cocobolo. They are dense, stable, and beautiful.

------------------
Although it does not mindfully keep guard in the small mountain fields, the scarecrow does not stand in vain
Bukkoku

I’d say the harder the better. A hard, dense and tough wood, that has been treated correctly by the maker does not tend to move or crack unless it is allowed to completely dry out. Best treatment for most woods is either oil or some sort of wax-based mix. Linseed oil also hardens when it dries, making the surface more resistant to scratches. A wood like Teak contains a lot of oil naturally, which is good, but it tends to be a little soft for knife handles I think.