Work-In-Progress... Wooden Tramontina Sheath

Special Thanks to DeadeyeLefty for inspiring me to dive in on this project.

So I've been a novice woodworker all my life, building bookshelves, desks, coffee- dining- and end-tables, and even a bed platform or two...but I've never set out do build something fine that you'd hold in your hands until now.

I'm making an oak sheath for my Tramontina 18" workhorse. That fine machete has dispatched dozens of scorpions, a handful of copperheads, and mountains of giant ragweed and brambles on my property, so it deserves a good home.

Here's the first sheath I made for it with 1-1/2" SCH40 PVC.
1.jpg

Those notched areas are where I tied on paracord to make a baldric of sorts. That sheath is very durable...but it is heavier than the machete and it would be hard to make pretty.

Back in 2011, I lost all my belongings to a wildfire in central Texas. After moving on and settling in, I've been rebuilding my "man cave" to focus more on my love of farming and crafts and less on the auto racing hobby that efficiently consumed my free income before the fire. Browsing the forums here has led me to a desire to get my feet wet with this sheath project while learning to use my meager skills and tools.

Using the PVC as a model, I cut out my templates on 1/4" oak plywood with a jigsaw.
2.jpg

I made sure to keep the nicer side facing down while cutting, and I flipped the template so both sides had the good side facing outward. I also avoided any knots on the surface. I took my time but was not worried about going outside the lines, since I would be sanding it all down later on.

To be continued...

Next I wanted to make a void between the two slabs for the blade to live in. For this I used my router to grind off a layer or two of ply from one of the slabs.

I chose to grind into only the outer slab, and leave the inner one (which rides next to my body) full-depth.