Recommendation? 440C vs D2 steel for a Ganzo knife?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm looking to buy my first folding knife, and I've decided to go for Ganzo. Reviews on YouTube seem decent, and it's within my price range. US knives are way too expensive sadly in my country due to import taxes, and the offer is kinda limited.

Question that is bugging me is which type of steel to go for. Basically, I need a knife for some medium farm work, such as cabbage harvesting and corn tree cutting. So no batoning, bushcrafting or anything like that.

The issue is, the steel type. I know that 440C is easier to sharpen, but the D2 holds the edge better so it might be better suited for farm work. On the other hand, D2 need a bit maintenance (some maintaining tips would be also great), and it can be harder to sharpen. Also it's less rust resistant which can be a bummer. I can sharpen I knife, but I just got into it, so I'm no expert by any means.

Which type of blade would be better and why?

Hello and welcome the forums!

As Rykjeklut Rykjeklut mention, Ganzo isn't one of the most popular brands on the forums. If you want, put "Ganzo" into the search bar in the upper right and read about previous threads.

Where are you located and what other brands do you have available to you? We might be able to help you find another option.

*grabs popcorn*

Welcome to the forums, you'll soon find out that Ganzo is a bit of a heated topic around here.
As soon as I saw the thread title, I went “oh boy.” I still remember that recent Ganzo thread that was on front page for like, what, two weeks-ish? Discussion there was hella exciting.