A bit of history and a Thankyou

Having lived in the Mid Hudson area most of my life, ( which at one time was the cutlery capital of this country ), the knife companies of this area and their history, as well as the people who were part of them, have always fascinated me. I have known three generations of people who have been part of this tradition. I have collected over the last 50 years many items and information regarding this particular aspect of this area, and being retired ( I was a NYS peace officer) I now write and lecture on this subject that I have always loved. Recently rather accidently, by virtue of my interest and writings on this subject, I was afforded a rare honor. I was offered a tour of the Imperial Schrade cutlery plant (in Ellenville NY ). Please I wish it to be known, this is not a common occurrance and Schrade does not normally offer tours. However to keep my information factual and because of my writings on the subject, I was given this opportunity. It was an amazing experience. The most immediate impression is of the relationship between all levels of staff. Everyone is on a first name basis (no matter what their title). Some of the employees have worked for Schrade for over 50 years ( yes 50). Noise, heat and general conditions were much better than I had expected and everyone seemed to know and even enjoy what they were doing. Knives that I had used and knew all my life were being made and put together right before my eyes. I was like a kid in a candy store. I want to sincerely thank all of those people who made that experience possible. It amazes me that the quality of product made by these people can still be manufactured and competively sold ( against the shabby goods from third world companies produced at a fraction of what it costs here ). Schrade still uses brass rivets, nickle silver bolsters and makes sure that every piece meets incredible standards. I inspected several knives considered seconds, minor imperfections deeming them as