a pack of parers?

hi,
latest batch. all the blades are Aldo's 1084. all the handles are from "scrap" wood, maple and dogwood from yard, walnut from gun stock maker. any and all comments welcome.
scott
apr3new.jpg

what's the thickness on those?

- Chris

they are all 1/8", the thinnest 1084 Aldo sells. I guess you could call the edge a scandi type grind, there is no secondary bevel. I have tried to keep the total angle between 20 and 25 degrees. The hardness is Rc60-62. I will post more pictures when they are done.

i like the 2nd one and the 5th one from the left.

love the nakiri up top too.

=D

Interesting. I am still trying to figure the difference between a nakiri and a cleaver. The one at the top I think of as a cleaver, it has a taller blade than the Old Hickory cleaver I have been using for the last 15 years, but I know it is not as tall as some "Chinese Cleaver" I have seen in the stores. It is the second "Nakeaver" I have made. I personally prefer it over a chef's knife or deba for kitchen prep. The total angle on the edge is about 15 degrees and I tempered the steel to Rc62. It will fall thru a ripe tomato and cut winter squash(acorn) almost as easily.
The handles are larger than "normal" on most of the paring knives so they are easier for folks like me with large hands and arthritis to use. I will post some pictures when blades are sanded and polished.
the old sailor

a nakiri is a shorter knife overall, shorter in height and length. to define the nakiri by it's name. it literally means veg cutter. "na" means veg and "kiri" means to cut.

it's just a japanese vegetable cleaver that's all. =D

a chinese cleaver is usually just a regular meat cleaver thinned down to near anorexic levels so it works better for veg and not anymore for cutting down bones and harder material.

well, at least that's how i interpret it.