a week of fishing - camping. which knife would you...?

Gents,

a few of us are heading to Sweden to a flyfishing trip for (big)trout and grayling at the end of august. we plan to camp on the whole trip.
As baggage weights are limited I'm thinking what "big" knife to bring with me...My CGBM stays for sure, but my BWBM's just want to jump off the drawer...anyway, as a "smallish" knife I'll bring my SS5 LE or an F1.
here are the contenders:
- BWM LE
- BWM CG
- SFNO LE
- Skinny ASH
- ASH LE

what are your thoughts?

I think the BWMLE would be a great choice paired with either of the smaller blades you mentioned. Heavy enough for some good chopping but still not too bad for carrying around. I think the SFNO would be a great choice too but I have no personal experience with that particular blade. The BWM/F1 combo is the closest to what I use as my fishing combo, so that is what I recommend.

I'd go with the bwm le. If you had said nmsfno I'd have said go with, but the distance between an ss5 and the sfno/skinny ash is pretty small. I like having a big blade just to have it, but realistically if you are only going to be batoning with it I would choose the lightest, slimmest long blade of the set.

you should get a dsf :p

With weight being a consideration, and me not knowing how much wood you'll need to actually chop...

1. Ash-1 (Skinny), the lightest option.

2. SFNOLE, which as Guyon has shown, is a pretty good chopper for its size and a dang handy knife all around.

If you know that you'll be having to chop a lot of wood for fires during the week, I believe the BWM is a little lighter than the CGFBM, and with it's pointier tip, might have more uses than just chopping, so I'd then go with that.

S5LE seems like a great choice for the smaller knife (but I'm not familiar with an F1, so my opinion may not count, LOL)

Have a great trip!! :thumbup:

I think the F1 or S5LE might be all you need but for a do-all knife......I'd go with the SFNOLE.
It'll do everything well.