Advice needed: chopper/machete for fishing

A friend and fellow New Yorker recently took up fly-fishing while spending time in the SW for work. He is now considering picking up a machete to get through patches of brush/brambles.
Though smaller than your typical machete, my first thought went to the LC as perhaps a more nimble option to carry for this kind of occasional use.
My biggest knife is an HDFK and I have zero experience with choppers/machetes.
Your thoughts and recommendations (CPK or other, if that is permitted) are much appreciated.
Thanks!

Svord Kiwi machete. Light 12 inch machete that is tough as nails, carbon steel, with a hi-viz plastic grip. Perfect for what you are asking and if he loses it, then he is out less than $70.

Thanks Mink Mink !

I should have mentioned that he indicated to his gf that he wanted one as his birthday present, which is why I immediately went for one of the “nicer”/pricier options. That is not to say that a less expensive one isn’t the best for this particular purpose.

ETA: the gift would be from his gf, not me - I mean, I think I’m a generous guy but... :eek:

Last edited:
LC is tailor made for the intended purpose, but where's you buddy going to find one and even if he does, he will be paying way of the original sticker price. Just like Mink has suggested, look into a 12 inch(ish) high carbon steel, which is both light and nimble plus being a cinch to resharpen often and easily kept sharp. If he's not experiences with larger knives, dinging, damaging and even worse losing a sub $100 blade is not a catastrophe (to some, most?).

Thanks Mink Mink !

I should have mentioned that he indicated to his gf that he wanted one as his birthday present, which is why I immediately went for one of the “nicer”/pricier options. That is not to say that a less expensive one isn’t the best for this particular purpose.

ETA: the gift would be from his gf, not me - I mean, I think I’m a generous guy but... :eek: