Am I using or Holding my knife wrong, causing a callous?

FOG2

Gold Member
I have developed a callous at the base of my fore finger. I cook for a living and as such use my knife all day every day. I wonder if this is a normal hazard of the job or am I holding or using my knife incorrectly?
Pics of the callous and my pinch grip below.
20180331_185903.jpg 20180331_185959.jpg
I use a 10 inch, Mundial wide cooks knife. I have ground the spine to round it as I 1st thought that the squareness of the spine was causing the callous, but it isn't whats causing it.
Anyone have ideas on this?

A callus is usually OK by me but maybe it'll cause issues for you. I look at them as protecting my skin.

They say that it's typical of using chef's knives. Have you talked to folks in your industry?

Danke I have not.
JC, thanks for the link! It seems I need to spend some time there.

Fog, it’s real simple. I see this all the time with my Chef clientele . When sharpening I knock off the sharp edges on the spine of knife .. you can do it with sandpaper on a block. Radius the spine so it’s round. Problem solved!

He said he had already rounded the spine. You might try smoothing the spine with higher and higher grits but I think it is simply a hazard of the job.

Tim I suspect you are correct.
Fog, There Is diff with it causing a blister or a callious!! I have callouses,, Unless your skin is brittle, you should only have a callious ,, not a blister..If the spine is properly rounded..

Last edited:
I now believe that me being (heavy handed) with the knife is the cause.
Instead I need to let the knife do the work instead of using my muscles to do it.
The callous seems to be getting smaller the more I use the less muscle technique. Tho I doubt it will go away.
As was mentioned before it's a result of the job.imo

I've had a callous like that for over 20 years, like jakescott said, better than a blister.
I now believe that me being (heavy handed) with the knife is the cause.