Any fans of "The Stand" by Stephen King?

Daniel Koster

www.kosterknives.com
Knifemaker / Craftsman / Service Provider
I'm about a fifth of the way through "The Stand" by Stephen King.

I'm reading (via audiobook) the "expanded" edition recently published. This is a first read for me. I didn't consider myself a King fan until I started the Dark Tower series. So I decided to give this one a try. The audio is ~48 hrs long and it seems like I've already been reading it for weeks....and I get the feeling I'm just barely starting the story. :eek:

Randall Flagg just made his appearance in the book.
He's he reason I'm reading it...he crosses over into the Dark Tower series later.

Anyway...would love to hear your thoughts on this book and I'll definitely post a review once I've finished it...maybe before New Years?
:D

Dan

I'm new to King myself. I've read the first of the Dark Tower books and liked it. I am reading Dead Zone now and really enjoying it. Has a Flannery o'Connor darkness to it. I just downloaded a PDF of Rage; I guess the recent school shooting brought it to mind.

Been meaning to read The Stand but haven't yet.

Great story! Horrible movie!!! I'm a huge SK fan! I've been 1/2 way through the 7th DT book for the past 5 years because I don't want the story to end....

Great Steven King book, the part where they go through the Lincoln Tunnel still creeps me out.

Sweet - glad I have lots to look forward to!

It seems very evenly paced....which is nice, but actually kinda hard when you're used to reading a book in a few days. I get probably 4-6 hours worth of reading every day when I'm in the shop all day. Really helps pass the time. But it makes long books seem even that much longer. :p :D

Dan

I'm new to King myself. I've read the first of the Dark Tower books and liked it.