Are my cheap knives the problem with my throwing?

Hi guys. I'm not new to the forum, but I'm mostly a reader, not a poster. But I thought I'd ask a question here and see if anyone can help me out. I have been throwing for a few months, and I have a decent spin throw, but I can't seem to get any kind of no-spin technique working. I have seen Ralph Thorn's DVD, and have tried to use his method, but its not working for me. My knives tend to spiral when I throw them, sort of like a football, or the way a rifle spins a bullet. They also sometimes turn horizontally to the right, and hit the target flat. If I get in really close (around 6 feet or so) and throw hard, I can get sticks in the target, but a lot of them stick in the target upside down. By upside down I mean that the knife spirals (spins on its axis) 180 degrees before it gets to the target. I feel like it's a problem with my release. Could it have anything to do with the knives I'm using?

They're super cheap. I got 10 of them on ebay for $30. I don't know who makes them, what they're made out of, or what the model is called. Some Chinese manufactured junk I'm sure. They have guards and the handles are really thin. They came wrapped with some cheap nylon string but I just cut it off because the little tail of it was getting in the way. The balance point is right on the guard. I don't know if they're too thin to hold them right for a good release, or if the guards are getting in the way of a good grip, or the little swells on the corner of the butt are messing up my release, but I feel like these things might be interfering with my throwing. I ground the top guard off one, but that didn't seem to help much. I was going to post pictures, but I am not permitted to post attachments for some reason.

Here is a picture so you have an idea what I am talking about.

!B4HFUOQBmk~$(KGrHqQOKi!E)+V3cib0BMonJ,OBhQ~~_3.JPG

-strick

Last edited by a moderator: