• The rules for The Exchange can be found here. Please read and follow them. Stop using Paypal Friends & Family and follow our best practices to prevent getting ripped off or having a bad deal.

Band saw blades for knife makers

Mark Knapp

Knifemaker / Craftsman / Service Provider
I have up-graded my membership to "Dealer" so lets see how this works. I am a Lenox Band Saw Blade distributor. I stock all sizes of bladestock and cut and weld for any saw. I have carbon blades for wood, Bi-metal for tough materials like Corian, Micarta, bone , ivory and tool steel. I also have carbide tooth and carbide grit for the really hard stuff, like hardened steel and mammoth teeth. I ship anywhere, and only charge actual shipping, I use US priority mail. I have four saws myself, I have cut a lot of stuff and I am happy to answer any bandsaw questions.

Last edited:
I have a Delta Shop Master. I'm told to cut liner material such as .040 stainless (approx.) I need a blade 20-24 teeth per inch....can that same blade be used to cut hardwood, Micarta, G10, etc. (tuff stuff)?
Thanks,
Rg

Maybe you can answer this for me. I am using a Rigid 14'' band saw that I have replaced the motor on. I put a 1hp baldor motor with a freq drive hooked to it, for speed control.

Here's the problem, I purchased an 18tpi blade at Industrial Supply and tried it out last night, it barely scratched the 1/4 mild steel I tried to cut with it. I had it slowed way down, but I'm wondering if its the blade, or is the saw going to fast? I have no idea what brand blades they use. (I'm not sure how they could sell them if they don't cut??)

I'm going to order a diemaster II from you once I figure out if this thing will work:confused:

Thanks for any help.

Would do well if you sold old bandsaw blades that are 15n20 at least 1 inch wide or wider. Guys who make Damascus would buy them from you.

Mark-