Bandsaw q + a

I've been looking for a good bandsaw to help me with profiling. I've read about and landed on the idea of the dewalt porta-band. Good idea, bad idea? My only question with the dewalt is a stand and blades. Are there any ready made stands for this saw that i can just buy? I'm not really set up to build one myself so I'd rather just buy one. And could someone post an actual link to good blades for cutting 1/8" stainless blade stock? I've not been able to find any. Also if there is another suggestion for a larger stand-up, metal cutting capable, vertical bandsaw I'd be all ears. Thanks boys

I second the MK Morse blades. Excellent.
You can also have a look at Femi hem saws and their table.
If I had a little more floor space I would get a real and heavy floor standing band saw with cast iron table and what not. Like a Fuho. Damn.

Last edited:
I have been using a Dewalt portaband on a SWAG table for many years to cut profiles, pins, bolster material, handle material, everything. I use Milwaukie blades from the Depot cause there is one right across the road from the ranch. They are OK. The Lennox blades are better from Lowe's but I get a A LOT of steel cut with the others as I have to go "down the hill" to get the Lennox. I use 14 tpi to cut the steel and 10 tpi for handle materials. Lots of steel:

u2X1Dwx.jpg

Damascus and AEB-L are the two main steels I work with:

0EBWp0e.jpg

The wife does much of the blade cutting:

XKKNloC.jpg

9wG1QWi.jpg

aqRg8Zq.jpg

Sometimes she just rides up to check on me to make sure I'm not goofing off and still working. I gave away the freestanding bandsaw in this pic cause I just didn't use it anymore. The Dewalt on the SWAG completely replaced it.

BSP2MU9.jpg

My daughter will also cut blades for me:

eSB20lj.jpg

I use this outfit to cut up everything:

DCXnUEt.jpg

How did you fit that deer into the Portaband?