Becker Brute BK1

First, Greetings to all. I am a first-time poster/member but LONG time follower. I'm a novice user/collector with a good start start of blades. I am a blade USER first, collector second.

I've always wanted a Becker, and I will finally be picking up a used BK&T(Camillus) Brute BK1 tonight. I've mainly wanted a BK2 Campanion as a camp knife, but haven't pulled the trigger. I'm not sure if I'll keep the Brute, or sell it. The knife and sheath are in good used condition, with some scrapes from brush use. The edge is in great shape. I'm debating about stripping the epoxy coating, and either recoating or leaving uncoated. Not sure since this is a high carbon steel. It'll be my first knife project, but I'm confident I can complete the work, having refinished several firearms.

What are everyone's thoughts? I honestly have more use for a BK2, but wouldn't mind tackling this as a project and see how it goes. Does the knife, being "retired" have more value in its current condition? Has anyone done a similar refurb on a Becker? I don't want to dump a ton of more money into the knife, but don't mind some elbow-grease being put into it.

Thanks in advance.

Beckers are users. I don't think it is worth having a Brute if you don't use it.

Buy one of the new second generation Campanions, you will love it. It is a heavy little knife, but IMO you still need a big chopper.

If I don't sell/trade it, it'll be a user first and foremost. I guess I just need a project. So...recoat, or strip and leave uncoated?

HPIM0282.jpg

IMG_2718.jpg

IMG_2719.jpg

Last edited:
strip it. mirror polish it. put on wood handles. make a leather sheath. give shiny pretty things to Bladite day is coming up ;)

me? i'd use that thing up and then buy a BK-09 ;)

Bladite