Benchmade Griptilian history

I’ve been trying to find any history on the Griptilian. When it was first sold by Benchmade, was Mel Pardue involved from the beginning, is there a way to identify when a particular one was manufactured, etc. thank you.

J jetfixer71 welcome to blade forums

I’m no expert on the subject.. pretty sure I remember first seeing a griptillian late 98 to early 2000 ( I may be confusing it with a pardue model though ).

Edit - Dr Google said 2001

Reactions: DMG
It's my understanding that the original design (Doug Ritter RSK) was a collaboration. Mel Purdue designed the handle and mechanics, Doug Ritter designed the blade, and Bill McHenry and Jason Willams designed the Axis lock.

It's also my understanding that the Benchmade Griptilian was first made in 2004.

I got all this information from Doug Ritters website. I tried to link it but apparently it's not a safe connection. You can find it by doing a Google search for "dougritter".

It's my understanding that the original design (Doug Ritter RSK) was a collaboration. Mel Purdue designed the handle and mechanics, Doug Ritter designed the blade, and Bill McHenry and Jason Willams designed the Axis lock.

It's also my understanding that the Benchmade Griptilian was first made in 2004.

I got all this information from Doug Ritters website. I tried to link it but apparently it's not a safe connection. You can find it by doing a Google search for "dougritter".
Thanks killgar. 👍🏼

Not sure about the exact timeline, but one way to identify when it was manufactured would be the blade steel. The early ones used 440C, then they switched to 154CM for a long time. I think the newer ones use S30V. Also, the Griptilian lineup has been truncated quite a bit, so a lot of variants that were available 15 years ago are no longer being made. They had a bunch of colors for both the full sized and mini, a thumbhole version that caused some controversy, etc.