Best ESEE combo?

So it was my birthday the other week and I've got some money to play with :D. I've been looking at the ESEE line long and hard and thought I knew what knife I was going to buy, the 3. Then I looked at the 4 and thought, if i'm going to get the 3 I might as well pay a little more and get the extra thickness and length from the 4. Then I thought screw the 4, im getting the 5! Then I realised I wouldn't have a small fixed blade because I'm new to the knife scene (my knife "collection" consists of an Ontario Rat 1 haha). Then I wondered...

What would be the best ESEE combo?

At the moment I'm thinking the ESEE 5 and Izula, but I wouldn't trust the thoughts of a guy with 4 posts and whos knife collection consists of a Rat 1 folder. Hell, if you can break it down to just one knife I'd like to hear your thoughts.

Red.

Oh, Lord.:eek:

This is a dangerous place to ask that question. I, myself, am something of a 'completist' -- so my answer would probably not help you.

But ... if I screw myself up really tight ... I guess:

Izula or Izula II and a -4.:)

Whew. That was tough.

ADDED: I very seldom limit myself to just 1. But if it was just one ... the 4, for me.

Buy a fixed Hest and a 5. Or a Hest Folder and a 5. Then, you'll probably then want an Izula. No, you WILL want an Izula. And then you'll want a 3. Then...

The 5 is my favorite ESEE knife... It's badass, it's heavy, it's designed to cut you out of a downed aircraft and survive thermonuclear warfare (and even absorb some of the radiation from the nukes to make it a true destroyer of worlds)

I would have to say though that you'll probably find more general use out of the 4. You can use it in a variety of situations that range from the mundane box cutting to camp chores and general survival. It's the perfect combination of size and function for probably the widest variety of tasks.