Best throwing knives

Hello, everyone... I'm new to knife throwing, but I've had a high interest in it for a long time now.

I was wondering which store throwing knives were the best buys. By this, I mean which throwing knives are the best for the price and quality, and can also be bought in most self-defense stores.

I've already ordered a couple of throwing knife sets from some sites and I'm just waiting for them to arrive (should come in tuesday). I ordered mostly the cheaper kinds (the copies), such as the hibben cord wrapped rip-offs.

I also want to know what everyone thinks of the Hibben Generation II throwing knives, as well as the United Cutlery Lightning Bolt throwing knives.

Thanks for taking the time to look at my post.. any help is appreciated.

-Kent

Kent,

I am sure that I speak for most of the knife throwers here,(well OK, some), in saying that the United stuff is not anywhere near the same quality as the "real" throwers. They are too light for any sort of normal distance, and much too small. Same goes for the Cold Steel throwers (the longer ones are approaching the length, but still too light).

You just can not realize the difference until you try a quality thrower. Most are in the 14" range and are of sufficient weight to not only strike and stick in the target, but won't wear out your arm (believe it or not, the lighter ones will really tire your arm due to having to throw harder). The only problem is that they are not available in "normal" knife stores. They must be purchased from the makers themselves for the most part.

We have one of the best quality, best value makers right here on this forum, and he is even the moderator, goes by the name of Bobby Branton.... http://www.brantonknives.com/throwin.htm
( I love his stuff
biggrin.gif
)

There are man other quality makers out there too. Do a search or follow links on Bobby's site.

Hope this helps, and have fun!!

------------------
C.O.'s-"It takes balls to work behind the walls "