Blade discoloration question

smills

Gold Member
I've got a handful of spydercos, but this is my first time purchasing one from a company that does custom scales. The knife is beautiful, but I can't help but be bothered by discoloration on each side of the blade.

My question is whether or not I should make an issue about it or is this acceptable condition and I'm just an unreasonable perfectionist. I think I'm extra paranoid after seeing all the recent seconds sale posts in thinking that maybe they just cannibalized an extra cheap knife for blade.

So, would this have passed quality control from the factory and I'm just a picky a-hole, or should I be complaining?

Appreciate any feedback. Tried to take pictures in different lights to give an honest representation.

IMG_7065.jpgIMG_7066.jpgIMG_7067.jpgIMG_7069.jpgIMG_7071.jpgIMG_7072.jpgIMG_7073.jpg

Looks like it got bumped with a buffer. It wouldn’t bother my but it’s my knife and I don’t knot what you paid for it. If it’s the only thing you think about when you hold it then you should probably seek a return.

The tang was rubbed against the liners when the scales were put on and the pivot adjusted.

If it bugs you and you bought it from a store, return it. I wouldn't but it's your knife.

Return it. Maybe they can clean that up, but I would not accept that on a fancy knife unless I was going to be working hard with it which I doubt is your plan.

Ive had DLC blades look like that before and when i put a light coat of wd40 or mineral oil on them they looked just fine. If its just something stuck in the surface it may come off.

DLC likes oil to darken up, when I wash mine in the hard Arizona tap they lighten up. Try rubbing a drop of mineral oil there

Its not a factory second blade. All seconds have a notch cut in the spine above the hole on the Golden Colorado side.

Is the blade Spydercos DLC coating? If so a magic eraser may clean it off.